Toogle Menu

Centre Staff

Saartjie Baartman Centre staff members:


Director

Bernadine Bachar ( director@womenscentre.co.za )
Provides strategic leadership to the Centre; responsible for strategic planning for the growth and sustainability of the Centre, for partnership development, fundraising, networking and the replication of similar centres in other parts of the country.

Financial Manager
Shumeeze Johaardien (  shumeeze@womenscentre.co.za )
Responsible, together with the Centre Director, for the financial management of the Centre.

Administrator
Robyn Abrahams ( admin@womenscentre.co.za )
Responsible for reception, the training venue bookings, and for general office management; assists with the general management of the Centre.

Psychological Counsellor & Trainer
Tatum Smith ( tatum@womenscentre.co.za )
Facilitates domestic violence education and awareness workshops internally and externally. Facilitates support groups among residents.

Social Worker & Intake Coordinator
Provides counselling to external clients; coordinates and supervises social work interns; trains lay counsellors for the gender-based violence sector.

Social Auxiliary Worker
Phelokazi Tshemese ( phelokazi@womenscentre.co.za )
Provides assessment; workshops as required and other administrative duties

Residential Programme Manager
Dorothea Gertse ( dorothea@womenscentre.co.za )
Manages the emergency, short-term and long-term residential programme; responsible for policy development and fundraising for the programme; plans and coordinates the job skills training for the residents; coordinates and supervises international and local volunteers.

Residential Programme Assistant
Leanne Adams (  michelle@womenscentre.co.za )
Assists with the day-to-day running of the residential programme and is on call after-hours for emergency intakes.

Residential Programme Social Worker
Namhla September (namhla@womenscentre.co.za)
Provides counselling to all residentail clients; faciliates domestic violence education and awareness workshops on request and trains lay counsellors for the gender-based violence sector.

Residential Programme Social Auxiliary Worker
Siba Rolinyati (siba@womesncentre.co.za)
Forms part of the residential team; assistant to residential social worker; facilitates domestic violence education and awareness workshops on request.

Night Supervisor
Rachel Petersen ( rachel@womenscentre.co.za )
Resides on-site and tends to after hour duties; Primary focus is to ensure and provide quality care and services to clients after hours.

Relief Lay Counsellors (After hours staff)
Wilma Raven, Camila Davids, Joylene Werner, Celeste Petersen and Anicke Kleinhans
Assists Night Supervisor by providing counselling and support to clients after hours. Tends to all after hours emergency work.

ECD Practitioner
Dilshaad Esau ( dilshaad@womenscentre.co.za )
Provides pre-school education to the children in the residential programme and supervises the volunteers who help her.

Maintenance
Shijaam Erasmus
Responsible for the general maintenance of the building and grounds.

Kitchen Chef
Achmat Allie ( achmat@womenscentre.co.za / catering@womenscentre.co.za )
Provides catering on and off-site to the corporate and public sector; offers refreshments and meals to all staff at the Centre.

Assistant Chef
Colette Geduld
Assists the chef in the catering programme.

Empowerment Programme 
The team jointly manages the direct services at SBCWC – Intake and Counselling; Education and Awareness raising and training; Legal Advice & Training; Coordinates the direct services provided by the partners to SBC clients.